Introducing the East Bank Depot, a mixed-use retail, office, and living redevelopment of a former freight warehouse along the re-purposed rail yard at 424 East 8th Street. The East Bank Depot will offer approximately 6,000 square feet of retail/office space along the lower level for up to six unique spaces and two finely-appointed, 1,270 and 980 square-foot, residential lofts above with elevated patios. Construction is set to begin April 2019 and be completed late 2019.
The revitalization of downtown Sioux Falls and the East Bank area continues to provide more of what businesses and residents desire as Howe Investment Company announces construction of the East Bank Depot, a mixed-use retail, office, and living redevelopment of a former freight warehouse along the re-purposed rail yard at 424 East 8th Street.
The East Bank Depot will offer approximately 6,000 square feet of retail/office space along the lower level for up to six unique spaces and two finely-appointed, 1,270 and 980 square-foot, residential lofts above with elevated patios. Co-op Architecture is managing all planning and architectural design of the property.
“The East Bank Depot will be designed and developed to appeal to a variety of retail outlets, food and beverage, shoppers, entertainment seekers, and residents in the growing downtown and East Bank area,” said Mark Vellinga, Real Estate Broker for JMV Consulting. “The redevelopment of this property pays tribute to it’s history and location, and will provide the tenants and public convenient access to the Falls, the Riverwalk, bike paths, parks, the Levitt Amphitheater, entertainment, shopping, and restaurants. This will be a sought-after upscale living and shopping destination located visible to the Arch, in the heart of Downtown where business activity is robust!”
The project will include the complete renovation of the existing building, additional parking will be added to the north and garages available for the loft tenants, as well as creating a through-way on the west side that will also serve as space for outdoor events and entertainment.
Construction is set to begin April, 2019 and be completed late 2019. For more information, contact Mark Vellinga at 605.376.1062.
In 1873, Richard Franklin Pettigrew began talks with the directors of the Saint Paul & Sioux City Railroad (SPSC). In August of 1878, the first passenger train reached Sioux Falls. William T. Doolittle was its engineer. This line was knows as the Worthington & Sioux Falls Railroad (WSFR). By 1879, the line was extended as far west as Salem, SD. Later that year, WSFR was incorporated by the SPSC. In 1881, the SPSC was purchased by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha Railway Company (CMO), and in 1882 the Chicago & North Western Railroad Company purchased controlling interest in CMO.
There was a passenger depot in the 400 block of east 8th Street on the south side of the road, which was in use until 1955 when passenger service on this line stopped. Constructed in 1920, the property on the north side of the road at 424 East 8th Street served as the freight depot for the CMO until the mid-1980’s.
Timeline of tenants at 424 East 8th Street:
1920 Freight depot for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis, and Omaha Railway
1950 Montgomery Ward & Co. Warehouse
1955 Terrace Park Dairy Warehouse / Farstead Feed Company Warehouse
1960 Feeders Supply Company Warehouse Freight Depot for Chicago & North Western Railroad System
1985 Howe Investment Company Purchased Building
Chicago & North Western Railroad Office, Freight Depot, and Traffic Dept.
1990 Enviro Safe Air Asbestos / Remvi Insulation
1995 Enviro Safe Air Hazardous Waste Remediation
2001 BNSF Railroad Office
2019 East Bank Depot